Another tip from Metafilter led me to the Top 100 Comic Book Runs Master List over at Comics Should Be Good. The list starts at 100 and works its way down to the No 1 spot. So I browsed on down, spotting some old favourites in decent placings: Peter Milligan’s Shade, The Changing Man at No. 67; Will Eisner’s The Spirit at No. 46; Los Bros Hernandez’s Love and Rockets at No. 35; Garth Ennis and Steve Dillon’s Preacher at No. 8; Alan Moore’s Swamp Thing at No. 5. It’s looking good, but the whole time I’m scrolling I’m thinking ‘C’mon, where is it. It’s got to be at No. 1 or these people don’t have a clue what they’re talking about.’ And there it is, at No. 1 (how could I have doubted), the masterpiece that is Neil Gaiman’s Sandman.

Once upon a time I wanted to do my masters thesis on The Sandman. This was a while back, when comics were not (by a long shot) considered literature. So they wouldn’t let me do Sandman. So I threw a wobbly and decided not to do my masters then after all. Now, I merrily thumb my nose at my old English Lit department. Not literature. Hmmmpph.

