I don’t really know what to say. Or, I do have lots to say but a lot of it has already been said. I feel at the same time a part of this and very much outside of it. I am outside because of my whiteness. Why is it, I have to ask, that people are attacking their own neighbours and not coming into the suburbs and breaking down our gates and demanding that they get the same priveleges that whites in South Africa still enjoy? Why can I still drive my car and buy my groceries and enjoy my hot water and electricity and not fear at all that any day now a crowd of poor people will be marching down the main road of my nice little suburb? Why are poor people killing other poor people, blaming other poor people, and not pointing at the gated communities and golf estates and saying “There, there are the people who have the jobs and the money and the nice soft beds”? I’m not suggesting that people should start marching through the suburbs. I’m not suggesting that the violence should be perpetuated at all. I’m just wondering why it is that foreigners are the target of all this frustration and rage and not rich people or white people or really anyone driving past in their big SUV loaded up with groceries from Woolworths. If I come up with any clever answers to this I’ll let you know.

