I’m still working on the Twinkle bag. I’m still worrying about how to attach everything. When I’ve found a solution you’ll be the first to know. In the meantime, I’ve been pretty busy, but with a good friend’s birthday party this afternoon and no gift in hand I had to get down to it. I’ve made a sort of thing of always giving him handmade gifts, so it had to be handmade and it had to be quick. And he’s, well, a guy. And quite difficult. So…

Anatomical heart from Sublime Stitching's Vital Organs set

Anatomical heart from Sublime Stitching's Vital Organs set

I’ve had this fantastic fabric for years now. I can’t even remember where I found it, but luckily I bought a large piece because I’ve used it for a number of projects over the years. It’s hospital issue fabric, and the stamp says ‘Hospital Use Only’ in several South African languages, with RSA (Republic of South Africa) in the middle.

I mulled over whether to leave the fabric hanging out on the sides, but it looked too messy. It’s quite thick, and didn’t drape nicely. So I decided to baste and gather the back in, and I’m very pleased with how it came out.

Ta-da. One fairly impressive birthday gift.

Ta-da. One fairly impressive birthday gift.

Well, I think it’s quite impressive. I used the Sublime Stitching sample on Flickr to decide on stitches to use. You can’t see it very clearly but there’s chain stitch, split stitch and stem stitch in there. All very small and neatly done. Some are six-stranded and some are four-stranded, so they give really good texture too. I changed the colours a little from the sample, because I had to make do with what was in my box, but also because I wanted quite subtle colours (apart from that deep red of course). I’m very pleased with it, so I hope my friend likes it.

Update: He liked it. I think quite a lot. Yay.

