So I’m making a comforter for my daughter’s bed. I’m quite nervous about it because it’s big, and I prefer to sew smaller things. But I’ve been gathering fabrics in the name of the comforter for some time now, and I figure I should get on with it before they get turned into aprons. Good friends are coming for a visit in ten days, so I’m setting myself a target to have it done in time for that. They’ll be sleeping in Caitlin’s bed, because she has a double bed in her room, and she will sleep in her brother’s room on the bunk bed. So the comforter will make our friends pleased and (hopefully) impressed with me. If I can just get it done in time…

I started cutting squares today for the patchwork, and I’m nearly done with the first embroidery piece. There’ll be little embroidered patches, some with words, some with pictures. Caitlin chose the one below from the Sublime Stitching ‘Tatoo Your Towels’ transfers.

Fabrics for the comforter, and the first embroidery piece.

Fabrics for the comforter, and the first embroidery piece.

So wish me luck, because I’ll be trying to squeeze this in between a lot of work, university reading and two dance classes a week (ballroom on Tuesdays, bellydancing on Thursdays).

