So after the (relative) success of Anti’s Birthday Present, I decided my male friends might occasionally appreciate an embroidered gift. Or at any rate, they’d have to pretend to because they know a lot of work has gone into it. <winky face> So, with my good friend Darren’s birthday coming up, I decided to make him something. Darren, if you’re looking at my blog for some strange reason, go away now because it’s not your birthday yet.

It’s still a work in progress. There’s some filling in to be done and I’m not happy with the face so I’m going to redo it. As usual, the photos are a bit blurry because my camera sucks (but I’m getting a new one soon – Yay!). I downloaded an illustration from the interwebz and traced it for the design. The iron-on embroidery transfer pencil didn’t work so I used white dressmaker’s carbon. This design would look great in colour, I’m thinking, but since it’s for a guy I decided to go monochrome. Just very basic backstitch and satin stitch.

Loving that retro 50s polka dot.

Loving that retro 50s polka dot.

