I finally got round to making an apron. I’ve been wanting to do this for ages. I have apron love. But for some reason I’ve been scared. I have a copy of A is for Apron. I visit Tie One On regularly. And yet I just couldn’t pull it together to make one. Then the beautiful Bronwen bought me a haphazardly made and yet charming apron from the car-boot market, and I found myself inspired. Not only did I make an apron, I totally winged it. I didn’t want to take my car-boot apron apart to cut a pattern from it, so I vaguely took some measurements off it and then made it up as I went along. Apart from my obvious need to pay more attention to tutorials on making pockets (who knew they were actually quite difficult to get right?), I’m quite pleased with the outcome.

The original car-boot market apron in lovely blue shwe-shwe.

The original car-boot market apron in lovely blue shwe-shwe.

New flirty red polka-dot apron for crumpet-making on Sundays.

New flirty red polka-dot apron for crumpet-making on Sundays.

And another pic just 'cause I'm so pleased with myself.

And another pic just 'cause I'm so pleased with myself.

