Well, having broken the apron fear I have moved right on into serious apron love. I went off to the copy shop with A is for Apron and did some pattern enlargements. I decided to start out easy with the Psychedelic Squares apron. I have to say that even though the aprons in this book are really lovely, the instructions are not that clear. I got very confused by the instructions for this one, which should have been really straightforward. Maybe I’m just spoilt by Weekend Sewing and Bend the Rules Sewing, which lay out all the instructions so clearly with diagrams. I love diagrams. Anyway, after sewing the pocket on upside down first time around (not at all the book’s fault, purely mine for rushing to finish the apron before my class yesterday), I got it beautifully finished and I’m super-pleased with it. As an added bonus, I used a reversible shwe-shwe so my apron is reversible. Yay. On the downside, the reversible shwe-shwe is slightly stiff, even after washing. I’m hoping more of the starch will wash out with use. Pics once again courtesty of my seven-year-old daughter, who is loving being the official apron photographer.

Yes, I really like red aprons.

Yes, I really like red aprons.

It's a little stiff but that kind of adds to the appeal.

It's a little stiff but that kind of adds to the appeal.

